汽车和机动车辆交通事故

发生交通事故后我该怎么办?

如果您发生交通事故,需即刻报警,如果您有受伤则需立刻就医。很多时候,受伤者在交通事故好几个小时或者好几天后才感觉到身体的疼痛和不适。

请注意,根据佛罗里达州的人身伤害保护法的新变动,如果您在14天以后提出治疗要求,您的保险公司会拒绝支付医疗费用。

联系我们的办公室进行预约,我们的处理人身伤害案件的律师会协助您并且保护您的权益。

我的交通事故案件费用是多少

我们无法确切告知您的车祸案件费用。任何人声称能够告知具体的费用时,您都应该保持谨慎。交通事故案件的费用取决于很多不同因素,例如:

  • 您的受伤程度
  • 您的治疗过程
  • 您的医疗费用
  • 您赚取收入的能力是否受到影响
  • 肇事方的保险公司的赔偿额度
  • 是否有可选的附加险(保险不足/未保险驾车或者保护伞保险)
  • 各方所承担的责任
  • 肇事方是否有实质性资产

如果您由于他人的过失而受伤,我们可以帮助您获得医药费和您应有的赔偿。我们将竭尽全力弥补您受到的的伤害。

我的交通事故案件需要多久才能结案

并非所有的交通事故案件都是一样的。根据受伤程度的不同,大部分案件需要一年至一年半的时间才能结案。大多数情况下,此类案件不需要上法院。但是如果您的案件情况需要上法院,结案则可能需要更长的时间。还有些因素会导致你的案件被拖延,例如:就医时间太长久,未能与保险公司达成协议,需要降低医疗留置权和大型医院的账单,或者当事人搬迁却没有更新地址或电话号码。我们经验丰富的律师将确保您的人身伤害案件得到快速有效的处理。

我已经购买全额承保,为什么保险公司不赔偿全额

当您您购买的车险时,车险提供的待遇非常之多。全额承保可能意味着不同的待遇,并不一定指在所有的情况下全额赔偿。您最好联系您的保险公司,让对方解释清楚您购买的保险拥有哪些待遇。

如果我的车发生交通事故,我作为车主会获得赔偿吗

在佛罗里达州,车主和驾驶人不需要随身携带保险。有些人认为发生交通事故后,他们应该获得车险赔偿。不幸的是,车险通常都不赔偿。我们的律师事务所可以回答您关于交通事故的问题。

什么是MMI和永久性损伤评定

您在发生事故后受伤接受治疗,我们的办公室将收到一份关于您的伤势的最终报告。一旦您处在最终的医疗治疗(MMI)状态,一些医生会签发一个永久的损伤评定。这个评定是根据美国医学协会准则完成的, 有时被保险公司用来评估案件。该评定旨在说明您的身体状况在事故发生后产生了变化。

要支付律师多少费用来处理我的案

我们律师事务所和大多数人身伤害律师事务所一样,收取您和解或判决所得的一定比例。只有当您获得和解或判决赔偿时,您才需要在规定时间内支付我们的费用。这些费用列在您签署的律师代表授权书中,在您与我们的律师面谈时,将会得到更详细的解释。如果您没有获得和解或判决的赔偿,我们将不收取任何费用。

支付我的案件的费用?这些费用是否包含在以上所述的比例费用当中

在您的案件处理过程中,我们的律师事务所将代表您来支付案件费用。这些费用包括挂号信,调查费,医疗记录或者专家报告副本收费以及其他费用。当且仅当案件和解时,我们才要求从您的和解赔偿中报销这些费用。这些费用不包含在您需支付的比例费用当中。

请问我的案件需要上法院

大部分人身伤害案件都能在无需诉诸法院的情况下和解。如果您的案件需要诉诸法院,在您提出诉讼前我们将解释您所有的选择方案和提供我们的建议,但您拥有最终决定权。

案件结束后我会欠医生费用吗

如果您发生了交通事故,您的个人身伤害保护保险应当支付一定额度的医疗费用。您的健康保险,医疗保险,和医疗补助也会承担一定医疗费用。如果这些仍然不能涵盖所有的医疗费用,我们将竭尽所能为您谈判争取和解费用,这样您就可以支付剩下的医疗费用。如果我们成功和解,你就不会亏欠任何医疗机构的费用。我们在这方面有着成功的经验。

什么是人身伤害保护(PIP)或无保险?

PIP也被称为“无过失保险”,因为无论您在交通事故当中有错与否,您都有权获得这些利益。PIP保险会支付医疗费用和您的工资损失。在多数情况下,PIP会报销您的里程和治疗,以及一部分您为了配合治疗或者减轻伤痛自己购买药物的花费。

在佛罗里达州的PIP支付高达$ 10,000,包括以下费用:

  • 各种医疗需要的费用的80%
  • 工资损失的60%(有些保单持有人拒绝此项保险)
  • 取代服务的100%,如育儿,家务和庭院劳动
  • 高至$ 5,000的抚恤金
  • 处方费用的80%
  • 里程报销

请注意,除非您购买了额外的PIP保险,在佛罗里达州PIP不会支付高于$ 10,000的费用。您将可能有免赔额。

如果不是我的过失,为什么我用自己的PIP保险?

由于佛罗里达州是一个“无过失”州,不管是谁的过失,每一个人都在PIP保险单的保护下。在某些特定情况,您可以使用他人的PIP保险,例如:

  • 如果您没有车,但和您住在一起的家庭成员在您发生交通事故的时候有车险,那么您可以使用同居家庭成员的PIP保险,保险单不保项目除外。
  • 如果您没有车,您的同居家庭成员没有保险,但如果您发生交通事故的车有保险,您可以使用该车的PIP保险。
  • 如果您没有车,您的同居家庭成员没有保险,你是行人,您可以使用撞到您的车的PIP保险。
  • 然而,如果您在佛罗里达州的拥有车,并且这辆车在您发生事故的时候您没有保险,那么您不能使用任何人的PIP保险。
如果我使用家庭成员的PIP他们的保险费用会上涨吗

使用家庭成员的PIP保险应该不会造成您或您的家庭成员的保险费用上涨。如果交通事故中您没有过失,您的保险费用应该不会上涨。

我的案件影响我的健康保险或医疗保险/医疗补助吗?

如果您的健康保险,医疗保险或医疗补助为您支付了任何医疗费用,根据您与他们的合同,他们有权从您获得的和解费用中报销。虽然不能保证,但我们的律师事务所已多次成功谈判,为我们的客户降低医疗保险,医疗补助和私人健康的留置权。此外,您的医疗保险,医疗补助或健康保险应该不会受到影响。

 

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Auto & Motor Vehicle Accidents

What should I do if I am in an auto or motorcycle accident?

After you are involved in a motor vehicle accident it is important to contact the police and get medical attention if you are injured.  Many times you may not feel any pain for hours or days after the accident because of the shock of being involved in an accident.

Keep in mind that with the new changes in Florida PIP laws you could lose your right to have your insurance company pay for your medical treatment if you seek treatment after 14 days.

Contact our office and schedule an appointment to speak to one of our attorneys who handle personal injury cases so that we can assist you in obtaining the benefits to which you are entitled.

How much is my auto accident case worth?

There is no guide to let you know exactly how much your case is worth and you should be wary of anyone who claims they can guarantee a certain amount.  It depends on a variety of factors such as:

  • your injuries
  • how long you received medical treatment
  • your medical expenses
  • whether your capacity to earn an income has been affected
  • how much insurance coverage the at fault party has
  • if there is an additional insurance available (underinsured/uninsured motorist or umbrella policies)
  • how much liability is determined for each party involved
  • if the at fault party has any substantial assets

If you are injured as a result of someone else’s negligence we can assist you in obtaining payment for your medical bills, as well as compensation for your pain and suffering.  We will do our best to get you the most we can to compensate you for your injuries. 

How long will it take to bring my auto accident case to a conclusion?

Not all accident cases are the same.  Depending on the particular injuries sustained most cases take anywhere from a year to a year and a half.  Although most cases do not go to court, if your case does go to court, it is possible that it will take much longer.  There are certain factors that can cause your case to be delayed, such as, length of medical treatment, failure to cooperate on the part of the insurance company, medical liens and large hospital bills that need to be reduced, or clients moving without updating their new addresses or phone numbers.  Our skilled attorneys will make sure make sure that your personal injury  case is handled quickly and efficiently. 

I have full coverage, why am I not covered?

There are many benefits available for you to purchase when you purchase your auto insurance.  Full coverage can mean different things.  It does not automatically mean that you are covered for all situations.  It is always best to contact your insurance company so that they can clarify what benefits you are entitled to. 

If I have an accident on my motorcycle am I covered?

In Florida motorcycle owners and riders are not required to carry insurance.  Some people think that if they are involved in a motorcycle accident their auto insurance will cover them.  Unfortunately, they usually aren’t.  Our firm can answer your questions regarding motorcycle accidents. 

What does MMI and permanent impairment rating mean?

After receiving treatment for your injuries as a result of an accident our office will receive a final report outlining your injuries.  Once you are at maximum medical improvement (MMI), some doctors assign a permanent impairment rating.  This rating, which is done pursuant to the American Medical Association guidelines, is used by insurance companies sometimes to evaluate the case.  The rating given indicates that you are not physically the same as prior to the accident. 

How much do I have to pay the attorney to handle my case?

Our firm, like most personal injury firms, charges a percentage of the settlement or judgment you get for your case.  These fees are due and payable only if there is a settlement or judgment awarded.  These fees are outlined in the Authority to Represent which will be explained to you when you meet with our attorney.  If no settlement awarded then there is no cost to you. 

Who pays for the costs in my case? Are they included in the percentage fee?

During your case there will be costs that our firm will be paying on your behalf.  These costs may include certified mail, investigation expense, charges for copies of medical records or expert reports as well as others.  If and only if the case is settled we will require that these costs be reimbursed from your settlement.  These costs are separate from the percentage fee that you pay from your settlement. 

Will my case go to court?

Most personal injury cases settle without needing to go to court.  If your case needs to go to court, prior to filing the lawsuit, we will explain all the options to you and give you our recommendation, but the final decision will be yours. 

Will I owe my doctors money after the case?

If you were involved in a car accident your PIP insurance should pay some of your medical expenses up to the limit.  Your health insurance, Medicare, and Medicaid may also pay for some bills.  If you have any bills left over, we will do our best to negotiate any balances left so that they can be paid from your settlement.  If we are able to do that, you will not owe any money to any medical provider.  We have been successful in resolving outstanding bills for our clients. 

What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP) or No-Fault Insurance?

PIP is also known as “No-Fault Insurance” because you are entitled to receive those benefits whether you were at fault for the accident or not.  PIP is insurance that goes towards the payment of your medical bills and lost wages.  In many cases they will reimburse you for mileage to and from treatment and a percentage of any medications purchased by you for treatment or pain relief due to your injuries.

In Florida PIP pays up to a total of $10,000 for the following expenses:

  • 80% of each medically necessary medical bill
  • 60% of lost wages (some policy holders reject this coverage)
  • 100% of replacement services such as childcare, housekeeping, and yardwork
  • up to $5,000 of death benefits
  • 80% of prescription expenses
  • Mileage Reimbursement

Please remember that, unless you bought extra PIP insurance, it will never pay more than a total of $10,000 in Florida.  You may also have a deductible. 

If I’m not at fault, why do I have to use my own PIP insurance?

Since Florida is a No Fault state it doesn’t matter who was at fault, each individual’s PIP policy will cover them.  There are also certain times where you can use other people’s PIP insurance, such as:

  • If you did not have a car, but you lived with a family member who did have car insurance at the time of the accident, then you can use your live-in family member’s PIP insurance, subject to policy exclusions.
  • If you did not have a car and your live-in family members did not have insurance, but the car you were in during the accident has insurance, you can use the PIP insurance of the car you were in.
  • If you did not have a car and your live-in family members did not have insurance, and you were a pedestrian, you can use the PIP insurance of the car that hit you.
  • However, if you owned a car in Florida that was operable at the time of the accident and you did not have insurance, you cannot use anyone’s PIP. 
If I use my family member’s PIP will their insurance rates go up?

The use of PIP benefits should not cause your or your family member’s insurance rates to go up.  If you were not at fault for the accident your insurance rates should not go up from the accident. 

How will my case affect my health insurance or my Medicare/Medicaid?

If any medical expenses were paid by your health insurance, Medicare or Medicaid, they will have the right to be reimbursed from your settlement depending on your contract with them.  Although there is no guarantee, our firm has been successful in negotiating reductions with Medicare, Medicaid and private health care liens for our clients.  Your Medicare, Medicaid or health insurance should not be affected otherwise.